Calendars

Musical events in Newcastle and surrounds – concerts, shows, festivals, workshops, courses, etc

Tuesday nights – Jazz at Grand Hotel – 7pm www.nima.org.au
Wed to Sundays – Lass O’Gowrie
Wed (usually) to Sundays – Lizottes 

Sun 26 May – “Guitar & strings” – 2.30pm, Christ Church Cathedral
Mon 27 May – Newcastle Strings Winter Concert – 7pm, Adamstown Uniting Church
29-30 May – “Joyful voices for hope and change” workshops with John Bell – Adamstown Uniting Church
Fri 31 May – Spooky Men’s Chorale – 7.30pm, City Hall
Sat 1 June – “The Wireless Chronicles – Armed and Languorous” – 2pm, Dungeon
Sun 2 June – Four Choirs Concert – 2pm, Adamstown Uniting Church
Fri 14 June – Indies & Idols (Australian Chamber Orchestra) – 7.30pm, City Hall
Thu 20 June – Doric String Quartet – 7.30pm, Con
Fri 21 June – “Musical Kin” (Ami Williamson + flute & piano) – 7pm, Adamstown Uniting Church
Sat 29 June – “Peace concert” – 2pm, Adamstown Uniting Church
6-18 Aug – Newcastle Music Festival
Thu 8 Aug – Dungeon Big Band with Heather Price – 7.30pm, Adamstown Uniting Church
Fri 9 Aug – “Musical Kin” (Miriam Allan + flute & piano) – 7pm, Adamstown Uniting Church
Mon 12 Aug – Sax Blue Jazz Quartet – 9pm, Adamstown Uniting Church
Sun 18 Aug – Festival Finale – 2.30pm, Christ Church Cathedral
Thu 5 Sep – Song Company “Mind over matter” – 7pm, Con
Tue 10 Sep – Emerson String Quartet – 7.30pm, Con
Thu 10 Oct – Nevermind (Baroque quartet) – 7.30pm, Con
Sat 2 Nov – Skride Piano Quartet – 7.30pm, Con
Thu 7 Nov – Song Company “Nineteen to the dozen” – 7pm, Con
Thu 14 Nov – Brahms & Dvorak (Australian Chamber Orchestra) – 7.30pm, City Hall
Sun 1 Dec – Mendelssohn’s violin concerto – 2.30pm, Christ Church Cathedral

Musical events elsewhere in Australia and OS – festivals, tours, camps, workshops, concerts, etc

17-19 May – “South coast sings” (with Rachel Hore & Stephen Taberner)
19 May – 2 June – “Singing to the heart” (with Tony Backhouse) – Central Aust
12-24 June – Italy (with Tony Backhouse)
17-21 June – Joy of singing Wintercamp (with Brian Martin & Imogen Wolf) – Bellingen
21-23 June – Wintersong 1 (with Rachel Hore & Stephen Taberner) – Blue Mountains
5-7 July – Wintersong 2 (with Rachel Hore, & Valanga & Andrea Khosa) – Blue Mountains
3-14 Sept – Croatia (with Stuart Davis)
13-20 Oct – The Ephemeral Choir (with Tony Backhouse & Anders Nyberg) – Blue Mountains
16-23 Nov – Singing in Fiji (with Rachel Hore)